Awards & Prizes



The films on “Unemployment” at the first BigBang International Short Film Festival really took us on a journey around the world. We watched 30 films from 16 countries which handled the universal and complicated issue of unemployment that troubles the entire planet through a variety of narrative choices and formal approaches.

We singled out and awarded films that tackled this issue with sensitivity, honesty or humor as well as a personal style. Classic or innovating, they succeeded in moving us light-handedly and skillfully avoided the trap of didacticism and cliches.

H πρώτη διοργάνωση του BigBang International Short Film Festival, με θεματική ενότητα την «Ανεργία», μας ταξίδεψε σε όλον τον πλανήτη, αφού 30 ταινίες από 16 χώρες προσέγγισαν με διαφορετική ματιά και ποικιλία εκφραστικών μέσων ένα πολύ κοινό αλλά δύσκολο θέμα και πρόβλημα που ταλανίζει όλο τον κόσμο ανεξαρτήτως γλώσσας και συνόρων.

Οι ταινίες που ξεχώρισαν, προσέγγισαν την θεματική αυτή είτε με χιούμορ είτε με ιδιαίτερα ευρηματικό τρόπο, σε κάθε περίπτωση πάντως με ξεχωριστό ύφος. Το εύρος της αφήγησης και της δραματουργίας κυμάνθηκε από την κλασσική αφηγηματική προσέγγιση έως την πιο πρωτοποριακή και στυλιζαρισμένη μορφή, διατηρώντας το στοιχείο της συγκίνησης, χωρίς να το εκβιάζει και χωρίς να καταλήγει σε διδακτισμό ή κοινοτοπία.

Με γνώμονα τα παραπάνω, η κριτική επιτροπή επέλεξε τα παρακάτω βραβεία:

Based on the above, the jury concluded on the following awards:

1. FIRST PRIZE (700 €) : «THE NIGHTFALL» by Eszter Kemeny from Hungary

2. SECOND PRIZE (500 €) : «STRIKE» by Ardavan Tarakameh from Islamic Republic of Iran

3. THIRD PRIZE (300 €) : «HIBERNATION» by Alexios Koukias-Pantelis from Greece

4. PRODUCTION : Daphnee Hocquard from United Kingdom for the film «THE CHOP»

5. DIRECTION: Ardavan Tarakameh from Islamic Republic of Iran for the film «STRIKE»

6. CINEMATOGRAPHY: Flora Chilton from Hungary for the film «THE NIGHTFALL»

7. SCREENPLAY: Lewis Rose from United Kingdom for the film «THE CHOP»

8. ACTOR IN A LEADING ROLE (ex –aequo):

a. Gardai Peter from Hungary for the film «THE NIGHTFALL»

b. Philippe du Janerand from France for the film «THE RIGHT PERSON FOR THE JOB»


a. Solene Salvat from France for the film «THAT WAS MY TWENTIES»

b. Stevie Jackson from Canada for the film «HONESTLY CHARLOTTE»

10. FILM EDITING: Lewis Rose & Samantha Rhodes from United Kingdom for the film «THE CHOP»

11. ORIGINAL MUSIC: Konstantinos Mouzakitis from Greece for the film «HIBERNATION»

12. SET DESIGN: Ioanna Kalavrou from Greece for the film «APRIL FOOL’S DAY»

13. COSTUME DESIGN: Nina Aubanel from France for the film «THAT WAS MY TWENTIES»

14. SOUND DESIGN: Arash Talebi from Islamic Republic of Iran for the film «STRIKE»

15. AUDIENCE AWARD (300 € sponsored by t-shOrt): «BRITTI» by Samar Prasad from India

From the first action 30 films will be selected through public voting to create the top30. These films will be competing in the second action for the 3 first prizes.*


The above amounts are, up to now, the smallest amounts for the 3 winners. We are, however, in the process of looking for sponsors who will contribute in a further financial support for the winners. This is going to be announced by the 15 February 2017 and will be posted in this section on filmfreeway.

12 special awards

1. Production
2. Direction
3. Screenplay
4. Actor in a leading role
5. Actress in a leading role
6. Cinematography
7. Sound
8. Set design
9. Costume design
10. Film Editing
11. Special effects
12. Music

The special awards don't have a financial reward.

The jury for the BBISFF 2017 is made up of:
• Dimitris Kalantidis, Film Historian and Critic
• Evi Karabatsou, Director
• Monica Vaxevani, Director

* In case that 30 or less films will be selected from the first phase, all the films will be projected in the central theatre and a prize of 300 € will be awarded by the audience through the online voting.